A new academic year is upon us. Welcome new and old students, staff and readers of the Whispering Willow!

Let me just start by stating that New Hampshire is stunning in the summer, whether you like hiking in some of the most amazing mountains, fishing for fat, hungry trout or lazing on near-Caribbean quality beaches. I’ve done all those things and more this summer. 

And all the while I longed to get back to the cramped offices of The Whisper.

To me, there is quite a remarkable feeling walking through the frosted glass door with the old willow logo on it, drawing the dusty, sometimes musty smell of journalistic history into my nose.

The Whisper has an amazing legacy, dating all the way back to the start of the Old Will university itself. In 1892, three young students, Benjamin Sotherby, Ian Waggins-Brecknall and Reginald Dwight—no, not that Reginald—asked the headmaster for permission to publish a monthly “record of activities and events pertaining to student life”. The headmaster, Sir David Westbrook said yes, and even gave the trio a small grant of £80 for stationery and supplies.

The Whispering Willow was born.

During the 127 years of publishing, suspended only during World War I, the Whisper has grown to be one of the country’s leading student news outlets, and in September 2018, I was fortunate enough to join the ranks of chief editors of this proud institution.

The journey from the monthly, single page, hand-written and hand illustrated “record of activities” to our 24/7, constantly updated news-site has been quite remarkable, and I will take our readers on a tour through this history during the following months.

Finally, I want to introduce our newest member, Ruby Morgan. Ruby is a freshman student in journalism, but she has already almost two years of real life experience writing for the Blacon Press in Cheshire. I am thrilled that she wanted to be a part of this, so look for her byline in the very near future.

From all of us at The Whispering Willow:

Let’s get this party started!

The gang:

Raelynn Walker – journalist

Ruby Morgan – journalist

Josh Cyrus – photographer

Peter Denton – webmaster and designer

Diane Cooper – chief editor and coffee brewer extraordinaire